"I am here!" Japanese Translation

OK, so I’m very new to this and probably getting way ahead of myself but something is confusing me. I’ve been trying understand Japanese grammar so that I can understand how and why Japanese sentences are structured the way they are. Also, I thought that learning about Japanese grammar now (with advise from another topic) might help be memorize kanji faster if I can think different ways to implement them into sentences. Also, sometimes when I’m learning the kanji here, there will be sentence examples and I thought if I knew some of the grammar, that might make it easier to understand what I’m reading.

Anyways, One of the YouTube video’s I was just watching titled Learn Japanese Grammar in 25 Minutes by JapanesePod101 had said 私はここです。(watashi wa kokodesu) is the proper way to say “I Am Here.”. However, in my favorite Anime “My Hero Academia” one of the main characters uses the catch phrase 私が来た (Watashi ga Kita) and the Show also translates that as “I am Here”. They not only use that phrase in the show but they use that phrase in the books too. The phrase is said several times each episode and they even go out of their way to even explain why the phrase is so important to the main character. So I’m confused as to what the actually difference is in the phrases. I’m sure both are correct but their has to be fundamental difference in both?

If you think about it “I am here” can mean different things.

It can mean “here is my current location” in the case of your translation to ここです

It can also mean “I have arrived” in the case of 来た

6 Likes

きた is the past tense of 来る (くる), which means ‘to come/arrive’.

I looked up the whole phrase and it makes sense. All Might is saying he arrived (as part of a longer phrase that basically means it’s ok! why? I arrived). But ‘I am here’ is a much more natural way in English to convey that, so that’s how it’s translated.