Grammar Doubt!

Hi everyone :slight_smile: Very new here and I’m liking it till now. I have just started to learn grammar and I had a doubt.
What is the correct way to write “Yumi often comes to my house”. If anyone studies from Genki they might find this sentence familiar :slight_smile: :grin:
This is what I tried: ゆみは よく わたしの うちにいきます.
Since I don’t have the answer key i thought I’d ask on here. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Since they’re coming over, I would say きます instead :wink: Also, don’t forget to say さん!

5 Likes

As @Saida said, you would probably say きます here, since even more so in Japanese than in English, it is odd to take the perspective of someone else when you are involved. Since if you say いきます, you are taking Yuki’s perspective rather than your own.

Of course, the English text also used “come,” specifically to make you do this.

5 Likes

hi! welcome to wk! ^^, im also kinda new to wk ^^;
you might want to check out the thread for short grammar questions here:
https://community.wanikani.com/t/short-grammar-questions/
posting a new topic works too :smiley:
がんばってね!

4 Likes

oh yes! I totally forgot about san XD. Thank you so much!
@MegaZeroX ah thank you! so when someone else is “coming” in my perspective it’s きます.

1 Like

yes I went through it and I’m so glad there’s a thread for grammar questions

2 Likes

I would also add that if you’re talking about someone coming over to your house, then you probably don’t need わたしの. So, you could get away with:

ゆきさんは うちに よく きます。

Adverbs, as far as I’ve seen, tend to be nearer to the verb, while time slots tend to be closer to the beginning of the sentence. (There are always exceptions, of course.)

And, as others have said, いきます and きます should be said from the perspective of the speaker.

1 Like

ah okay I’ll keep that in mind thank you