How to say: today there were many clouds in the sky

I am trying to practice constructing sentences with words that I have learned. I wanted to say “Today was cloudy” but figured that instead of bothering to figure out how to say “cloudy” I’d just use words I already knew.

My first attempt was:
今日は、空に多い雲にあります。

Then I wasn’t sure if 今日 was the subject, or if that should be 雲.

What is the best way to construct this sentence?

今日is actually the topic, not the subject.

I would go with

今日は、空に雲が多かったです。

In which 今日 is the topic, 雲 is the subject, and the adjective 多い is conjugated in the past.

Would using ですinstead of あります be kind of like saying “there are clouds in the sky” instead of “the sky has clouds”?

I’m far from an expert and I could be wrong, but from what I’ve learned your sentence is not wrong, but it is weird, sort of like saying “many clouds were in the sky today”. Using 雲 as the subject and 多い as predicate seems more natural. A very literal translation of my sentence would be “as for today, in the sky the clouds were many”.

Just a tip: you use が when dealing with the subject of verbs of existence (ある and いる), so it would be: 今日は、空に多い雲あります。
Of course, @rodrigowaick’s version is also right- my intuition tells me that’s more natural as well. (I’m no grammar expert, so I’m probably way off.)

By the way, the word for cloudy is 曇り (くもり) so I think the correct way to say “today was cloudy” is 今日は曇りでした。
(でした is used only with the past tense for nouns/na-adjectives, and 曇り is a noun.)

4 Likes

You’re right, I hadn’t noticed the use of ni instead of ga.

Thanks so much! It kind of makes sense. I’ll need to study it out a little more :sweat_smile::sweat_smile: