How to pair WaniKani with grammar + speaking lessons?

I’ve been learning Japanese for a while with a teacher. She’s very good at speaking practice and explaining concepts and we’re slowly working through Genki I & II (I’ve skipped around a bit). However, I find myself frequently forgetting grammar points and unfamiliar vocabulary. I’d love to find something similar to WaniKani that helps me overcome those issues.

I know lots of folks use Aniki, but honestly, I find it never sticks as a habit. Recently took a look at Bunpo, which seemed like a logical add-on to WaniKani. Has anyone had any personal experience with it?

My end goal is to hold a casual conversation and not sound like an idiot lol. I’ve been half-learning Japanese for years now, I’d like to finally progress to conversational!

Thanks

4 Likes

As a beginner I don’t know if I can really help you. Best practice would be to speak with real Japanese people I think. But maybe this is something for you:
I found Speechling (App or website) and think it’s a good way to practice listening and speaking.
Main point is to record your own voice and compare it to the audio. You can do it by yourself or “ask a tutor”. They have an SRS System build in. If you get bored by just repeating and translating you can use the advanced features which are describing a picture or answer questions. It is free with a limited amount of audio you can upload or you can pay for an unlimited access.
It is no actual conversation but a good way to practice. As always, you have to find a slot in your learning schedule where you can implement the new material on a regular basis.

1 Like