How to learn to read kana fast?

I learned to read hiragana and katakana a few months ago, and after the first few days I feel like I’ve hit an endless plateau in terms of reading speed. For example, no matter how many times I’ll see the letter ブ, I have to think: “oh, this is fu, and it’s voiced, so it’s bu”, it still takes a conscious effort to distinguish between わ、れ、ね、め、ぬ, and when I see ちょう, it takes me a second to convince myself that it’s not ちゅう.

I’ve been reading every day and it doesn’t seem to help. There seems to be a fundamental difference between scripts I learned as a child and scripts I studied later in life: for scripts I learned as a child my brain grasps the entire word as one unit, but when I read kana or Arabic (which I studied in high school and all the years since high school haven’t changed it), I still read the word letter by letter like a 5-year-old.

Is there any scientific research behind making the leap from reading slowly letter by letter to reading at reasonable speed? If you made this leap with kana, what was your secret?

3 Likes

Yes, but when you were a child, there was a time when it didn’t. Even as a child, your brain had to learn over time how to make that symbol-to-sound association automatically. The same thing will happen for Japanese eventually, just keep practicing.

13 Likes

Exposure is key. Your brain needs to create enough neuron clusters in your brain that identify those patterns and in order to do so it needs time. Its building memory here, we’re talking time and energy and creating actual matter in your brain. Give it time, feed it well.

Exposure to simple text over and over again is one thing. Just like kids do it when they want the same bedtime story e v e r y nighttime for months… and then some of them pretend to read before learning to read because they know the text by heart. Lingodeer is a good option for simple repetitive exposure that includes audio with the words/sentences.