How practical is retention of kanji or vocab in real life for people that have almost/already finished

Hey, about half way through level four after commiting to WK. Just wondering for people at level 50 - 60, in real life how good are you at bringing up kanji or vocab at a reasonable speed when reading it in real life? Does it take time to think through the mnenomic and then meaning etc., or when you burn an item does it just come to you instantly?

Because I’m thinking of using this solely for kanji and reading it out loud since it’s worked amazingly so far.

Thanks in advance :smile:

3 Likes

Obviously not a high level here on WK but I do read a fair bit of manga/simple books and can say with certainty that the kanjis you know, and see a lot come very natural after a while.

For instance seeing 勉強 does not make me think… ok, “exertion” and “strength”… it just means “study”.

Again, in the grand scheme of things I’m a beginner, but that’s my experience so far. The mnemonics are a great way of studying kanji, but honestly not something I every think about when I read a manga or book…

A more experienced user can most likely shed more light on this though :slight_smile:

9 Likes

I couldn’t recount to you almost any mnemonic on the site. They are meant to bridge the gap and then fade away. Note: I’ve been level 60 before but I prefer having a low level badge.

12 Likes

I know 100% of Japanese now.

10 Likes

If you’re just starting with Japanese, only finishing WK will not give you instant recall for every kanji/vocab on the site. I find it a tremendous boon that I don’t have to look up very many kanji - even though I still need to look up a lot of words (Also the words are easier to find if you recognize the kanji!).
But sometimes it does take a second to remember the kanji I’m seeing. You should expose yourself to reading to keep the kanji you know fresh in your mind - and the more you read, the faster you become at it.

2 Likes