How do you all level up so fast?

Hi,

I am new to this, and only Level 8 so far. I was wondering how you all level up so fast, I hear about 1 week per level, which is not the case for me. I am more around 3-4 weeks per level, even though I try do my reviews daily, and have a 90 % right rate…Am I doing something wrong?

I work 8-9 hours a day, have japanese lessons outside of WK and of course other life obligations, so is my tempo normal for that? Even IF i try to finish all my reviews in the morning, but the end of the day I have another 100, and I cant do them right away.

Also out of those 100 items for example, are a lot of verbs/radicals I have been given since Level 1…sooo that seems quite ineffective and I feel like its slowed down on purpose so I pay longer for the service?

What am I doing wrong ?

5 Likes

Wanikani is not a magical tool that injects the kanji into your brain, and memorizing takes time, if you do one concentrated session every night, you can level up every 10 days if you don’t get your new radicals + kanji wrong. It takes 6-8 days if you do a morning and evening session. Mainly just focus on accuracy of new kanji and radicals over everything else, and try get everything out of guru and apprentice. This graph shows how most human’s memorization works. Good luck!!

4 Likes

Thank you,

I will see how it goes !

You have to fight wanikanis of way higher level than you with higher level learners but before you take out the last HP point you swap your low level guy in and do the last hit

2 Likes

This is not enough to clear a level in 7 days. Those who clear in 7 days do the reviews several times a day, as soon as possible, for the items that lead to level up.
Example
Day 1 at 6am learn new kanji, Apprentice 1
Day 1 at 10am answer correctly on kanji, Apprentice 2
Day 1 at 6pm answer correctly on kanji, Apprentice 3
Day 2 at 6 pm answer correctly on kanji, Apprentice 4