How are you learning proper nouns?

As if kanji weren’t cumbersome enough, proper nouns take kanji to another level. These don’t click easily to me like they do with normal words. I’m currently studying a premade deck in Anki. For the most part, location names and surnames aren’t that bad. Personal names, however, are awful. I want to scream at the variations of ひろし、つよし、and みのる.

I’m thinking I’ll go slower with them. It’s seriously enough to make me want to quit learning kanji.

Edit: Here is the Anki deck I am using: https://ankiweb.net/shared/info/3885156604

Maybe just learn them when you actually meet someone with that name. :stuck_out_tongue:

I don’t get people’s names at all. I usually have to either guess or look it up online on what’s the most common reading for a certain name. It’s by far the hardest part of Japanese for me since it can actually be very different from what you thought.

Even native speakers frequently can’t guess a name on reading the kanji. That’s why business cards and internet forms always have a space for furigana.

Whenever I get friendly with someone, I ask them for the kanji their name uses and I just memorize. When I hung out with a group of Japanese friends, only I knew the kanji of one of those friends.

I’d rather have a decent collection of common names like I have in English. I know that even Japanese people have trouble with names, but almost all of them are able to read the common names with counterintuitive readings. I can’t be the only one who has tried to make a concentrated effort to learn names. On the bright side, I can now read every prefecture and major city in kanji.

Tofugu created a list, which you can buy in their store:

Aye, I was going to make a similar comment - basically, I know nothing about how your Anki deck is formed, but your best option is to focus on the most common names.

Also found this: