Hi + newbie questions

Hello everyone!

Quick presentation: I’m in my thirties, and I’ve been meaning to learn japanese for quite some time now, but I never knew where to start. I stumbled onto Tofugu 2 weeks ago and the described method was very appealing to me, so I started. I learned Hiragana and Katana in 4 or 5 days; needless to say I was very impressed with mnemonics (back when I was a student one could say that I had a strong vision memory, but this is so much more). And then I started WaniKani last week, I’m still lvl 2 but I should reach lvl 3 this weekend I believe.

As for why I wanted to learn japanese, there’s a lot of reasons. Some are personal. Some I can talk about: I’d like to be able to play japanese video games in their original version, I’d like to be able to watch animes without any sub. I’m also planning on traveling to Japan in the next few years, so that’s another motivation… And also, I wanted to learn something new again, to put my brain to the test. I must admit it’s not easy, as I stopped this mechanism of active learning 10 years ago, but Iearning something you’re passionnate with is so enjoyable.

Now for some questions:

1. Even though I’m only level 2, when I look back at the Kanji and/or Vocabulary from level 1, there already are some that I forgot, and I cannot recall every mnemonics that I knew 2 or 3 days ago. Is that normal ? Why is there no way to review (without it to count for leveling up) past kanjis/vocabularies? Should I train myself with a piece of paper or any other method besides WaniKani?