Help with る/たほうがいい/よかった

Hello, I’m studying grammar now and I don’t understand the answers to the questions that come to my mind. What is the difference and what is the meaning of each of these forms from each of these forms?
The example’s going to be: 野菜を食べる
I know that:
野菜を食べるほうがいい means just a general recommendation or advice to do smth.
It is better to eat vegetables. OK.
Also I know that:
野菜を食べないほうがいい means just a general recommendation or advice not to do smth.
It is better not to eat vegetables. (LOL, NO)
And the last one I know that:
野菜を食べたほうがよかった is SHOULD HAVE equivalent from English.
I should have eaten vegetables(but have eaten chocolate, that’s sad)
How to make a negative form? 野菜を食べなかったほうがよかった? I shouldn’t have eaten vegetables(but have eaten)???
So, I am interested in this kind of questions.
野菜を食べるほうがよかった It was better to eat vegetables(just recomendation in past, can it be so?)
野菜を食べるほうがよくなかった
野菜を食べるほうがいい
野菜を食べないほうがよかった It was better not to eat vegetables(better for what moment? just in random past?)
野菜を食べないほうがよくなかった
野菜を食べないほうがいい
野菜を食べたほうがいい。Isn’t it a synonim of phrase above? is it present perfect, isn’t it?
野菜を食べたほうがよかった
野菜を食べたほうがよくなかった
野菜を食べなかったほうがよくなかった
and others… are they even make a sense? Is there anyone who uses these forms?
And a little question more: to make a question should I just add の or か at the end?
Maybe any other examples or equivalents from English to make it easer to understand.
advance thanks

I apologize if something is unclear, I myself got confused a little while I was writing this haha
ちょっと休むほうがいい。

In this expression, it’s more typical to use past tense for the verb - 食べ方がいい. 食べ方がいい can also be used, but it implies a weaker suggestion, so it’d be weird to use it if you want to be really emphatic.

The negative form is 食べない方がいい - not 食べた方がよくない, and never 食べなかった方がいい.

It’s an idiomatic expression, it doesn’t really have a full set of conjugations like a regular verb or adjective.

7 Likes

Okay, then Arigatou!