Hello, I need an advice please

Hello everyone,

I am the type of person who works best with printed materials, and that goes for learning as well (I really like books). Therefore, I was searching for some books to learn kanji :sweat_smile::sweat_smile: .

I know that wanikani is one of the greatest app for learning kanji and vocab, but I also know that using paper and pen will help me do better. I did my own search and found that book " Kanji From Zero ". I am studying grammar using JFZ books, so I already know that the author is quite skillful in grammar stuff, but I don’t know about this kanji book.

Does any of you ever bought this book? If yes, do you recommend it?
If you know any other books that is good or better, please tell me about them.
Thank you!

Best regards,
Louai

I have the book, I bought it before I found out what wanikani was. I never really used it but looking though it seems to be a okay book. Only covers 200 kanji I think so thats about level 8 I think in wanikani, maybe level 9 but 200 kanji is not that much in general. It does teach stroke order and some vocab, overall not a bad beginner book and I am sure it meant to go along with Japanese from zero series.

Remembering the kanji (RTK) Is one the most pouplar textbooks for kanji, and there are multiple covering lots of kanji. The downside is it does not teach the readings or vocab but there are lots of guides and info online on making your own anki decks and using RTK to learn vocab and such.

I am not a textbook person and wanikani is s lifesaver to me, If I had to learn kanji by textbook I would know far less and hate having to learn kanji.
Wish you the best of luck

Do you want a workbook? I practice writing (drawing? :thinking:) the kanji I learn on wanikani on actual paper, it takes a lot of time, but it helps me retaining. To answer your question though