Good Programs/Methods on getting comfortable with speaking?

I’m a bit of a scaredy cat and have not really taken advantage of these forums nor posted anything, so here it goes.

So I know a ton of vocab, and I am still tackling all the grammar rules but as being self taught as a hobby over the last 2 years I feel like I am getting decent enough to want to try my hands at speaking or even having a conversation. But I looked around and haven’t had much luck on which path to exactly take since I have no experience in these sorts of things. Any helpful recommendations on books/study materials/programs or any other recommendations for that matter are insanely appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

=> Italki.
=> Community tutors (cheap ones are ok).
=> Spend 1h practicing.

Once I have the money, I intend to spend 1h a day speaking in Japanese with natives this way. So yeah, that’s my plan. The best method to improve speaking is speaking, after all.

Also, you can do this with exchange partners. But that implies:

• Always having something to talk about.
  • Focusing on being an actual friend instead of helping each other improve.
  • You have to split your time.

If you can afford lessons with Community tutors (relatively cheap, compared to actual teachers), then I’d say that’s the most efficient way. It’s all about you after all (and you’re able to talk with a lot more people, which helps with diversifying exposure).

6 Likes

This is exactly what I was looking for, I’m a bit nervous going into it so I am going to work on getting over that mental block and then give it a try. Thanks a million for the recommendation jprspereira.

I personally tried italki but found it to be too expensive overall (also quite a few spam messages if you’re a girl, but that’s the usual online).