Godan vs ichidan

I have question regarding verb conjugations. I am around 3(and half ) months since i started studying grammer seriously and these conjugations are worrying me about when verbs that end with い え get conjugated into て vs って
All i know ichidan verbs are て
Godan verbs are って
Should i memorize that? Do i figure it out with experience later on?

1 Like

Yes, unfortunately you need to memorize this somehow. There is no hard and fast rule to find out which of the verbs that end in え or い are godan or ichidan.

1 Like

That’s incomplete. It misses いて、いで、んで、して for godan verbs.

Also most verbs that end in いる and える will be ichidan and there are not tons of commonly-used verbs that are godan with either ending so you can easy just memorize most of the common exceptions (帰る、走る、etc. being amongst these exceptions).

3 Likes

Yes that is mistake from my side. I meant って and other conjugations

1 Like

For verbs that end with る, you should check whether it’s ichidan or godan unless you can tell from a conjugation which it is. Ichidan verbs always go to just て, whereas godan verbs conjugate differently based on the last syllable. For る godan verbs, they will always go to って so that is correct. If you see that, you’ll know that verb is godan and thus the other conjugations will follow that pattern.

信じる (ichidan)
信じて、信じた、信じない、信じます

語る (godan)
語って、語った、語らない、語ります

2 Likes

Unless it ends in aru, oru, uru in which case they can’t be ichidan. It’s really only just remembering the ones with iru/eru that are godan which is a much smaller lift of the common verbs.

1 Like

Right, but if you’re ever unsure it can’t hurt to check. Since OP seems confused about how to tell, the easiest way to know for sure is to check the dictionary.

4 Likes

I feel like Cure Dolly came up with a decent way to remember which endings to use when:

UTSURU: う ,つ and る (which, unfortunately, doesn’t exclude everything ending in いる or える) lead to って
NEW BOOM: ぬ, ぶ and む lead to んで