First experience of talking to a Japanese person since I started studying

I’ve just had the most unexpected first conversation in Japanese. After staying in Thailand for 2 months (and studying Japanese all by myself for a few hours every day) I have to leave the country because my visa is about to expire.

So on an old noisy train from Bangkok all the way to the Lao border I suddenly notice that the young guy sitting next to me is reading a book with columns upon columns of text. Chinese? I squint and see hiragana mixed in.

At that point the overthinking starts: would it be rude to say something, as it would mean I peeked into his book? And, if he’s also going to the Lao border, it means we have 2 more hours on this train together, so am I ready to switch from sitting peacefully next to a complete stranger to talking for 2 hours in a language that so far I had literally only ever conversed in with myself?

My heart is beating and the aircon is freezing, so I get up to put a jacket on and go to the toilet. When I get back, I have to bother him to get to my seat and he’s just reading the book again, so - it’s now or never - I say すみません。

Turns out he’s been studying politics and economy (for these two words we had to switch to English) in Bangkok for 6 months, he’s travelling to some remote area of Thailand for a trip, and his favourite thing about Thailand is the food (really? I would choose Japanese food any day)