Expectations about daily time commitment for WK?

Hey, I’m new to WaniKani and trying to figure out what my WK study schedule will look like.

I know it’s widely advised to “pace yourself” etc, because the reviews can really pile up. But can anyone be more specific about this? Like how long would it take me to do my daily reviews after a couple months if I’m going at a pace of X new lessons per day? Can you give some examples of how much daily time commitment would really be required for various paces? Or does it just vary too much per person to say anything remotely helpful about this?

Thanks!

2 Likes

You roughly are gonna multiply what you do daily by 5 or 6 and that is gonna be roughly your daily review pile (probably more). So you should do no more than 20 lessons a day (the max I have seen recommended) but you’re gonna have 150 reviews daily at that pace. So if you don’t mind spending 30+ minutes doing just reviews a day then go for it, but I recommend 10-15 as a sweet spot.

3 Likes

I see, thanks for the quick reply!

So, on the aggressive side of things, you said 20 lessons a day might lead to ~150 reviews per day, which would probably take 30+ minutes for the reviews alone. And the 20 lessons would take about how long, for most people?

And so if you do 10-15 lessons a day, it would lead to 50-75 reviews a day (?), which would maybe only take 15-20 minutes for the reviews? And then however long the lessons take as well.

I do 15 a day and my daily stack is about 100-115 any given day. But I get things wrong and they get sent back to the Apprentice/Guru pile.

3 Likes

Ok thanks for sharing. I’m sure along with that, I will be able to figure out my own study time needs soon enough as I get a week or two into WK and see how long each lesson usually takes me etc.

Exactly the same here. Level 8.

OP, I’d say try to find 30 minutes (in total) every day. For review maybe dedicate half of that to a single sitting.