Doing as much as possible?

I am a noob and was wondering if it’s realistic to get the “maximum” speed for the normal levels (which take about 7 days according to the ultimate wanikani guide). Roughly how much time would that take daily? Thanks in Advance! <3

If I were you I wouldn’t go at max speed as that will overtime increase your reviews to the point you’d be doing hundreds to over a thousand reviews a day.

5 Likes

It would most likely turn out to be very overwhelming, and probably do more harm than good. I go very slow, and I do about a level every 30 days, but I’d wager that you could probably do a level every two weeks and keep things reasonable.

4 Likes

I am asking about the time it needs to do the lessons though, not the reviews. Reviews are something you can always do on the fly but what I am really curious about is the time it takes to do as many lessons as you unlock at max speed

The reviews are how you actually learn the material, though. Doing the lessons as quickly as possible while burying yourself under a crushing load of reviews is ultimately going to impede your learning.

13 Likes

As the guy that wrote the “ultimate wanikani guide”, test the waters first. Aim for consistency, spread your lessons throughout the days, and finish your days with 0 reviews. Get that done and you’ll be able to judge better if you’re ready for maximum speed or not.

Not saying it’s you, but everyone wants to do maximum speed. They just don’t have the energy/motivation nor the time to do it. They end up burning out and showing up here years later to start again.

Consistency first. Get that and you’ll be ready to speed things up next :slight_smile: Not the other way around.

17 Likes

I’m really thankful for the precautionary words but as I said, I just want to learn about the technicalities with this question. Whether or not I can and will do it at max speed is yet to be determined but I’m just asking about the facts and numbers