Does it always feel this way?

Yoooo!

As I get more into the world of language learning, I’m beginning to realize something;

Whether I’m reading or listening, it always feels like my brain has to go through two processes: Translate, then comprehend.

Now, this makes perfect sense, since I am pretty new to Japanese, and language learning in general.

My question is, does it ever change? Can I expect my brain to ever skip the “translate” phase, and go straight to “understand” like it does for English?

What are your experiences with this topic? I’m very interested to hear/read!

9 Likes

Yes. You will do. Easy example of this if you watch anime is if you hear the word baka thrown out randomly. I don’t know about you but even before i started wanikani i can understand it. Now throw kanji in the mix mizu水 and you get reading ability
I don’t know if i made sense or not but this my attempt at it

8 Likes

Yes :slight_smile: It’s a gradual process, but there are probably already words or expressions that you don’t need to translate anymore. Over time you’ll build your intuition and have more and more of these experiences until you realize you’re mostly thinking in your target language.

Disclaimer: I’m very far from fluent in Japanese :grin: But even at my level I don’t need to translate everything I’ve learnt anymore, just the stuff I’m less familiar with.

8 Likes

Absolutely. In fact, I found the opposite (comprehend, then translate) becomes a bit harder (or more time consuming) once you get a better grasp at the language. For example, when I’m reading and come across a sentence I don’t fully understand, I like to write down the parts I understand in English, and then look up the parts I don’t. What I find is that while my brain has processed the meaning, I’m hit with “wait how do I word this in English?”

Edit: I’m so bad at using Discourse forums, I didn’t mean to reply to skymaiden.

18 Likes