Do Japanese People ‘decode’ Kanji Like We Do With Words?

I was just going through my reviews and thinking how much quicker it would be to read something in Japanese, because you can just look at one character rather than reading like… a long word. Compare a single kanji to a word like “extrapolate” - you need to actively read that full word to know what it’s going to say (you can’t ‘guess’ as the start of it could be the start of many words).

Then I thought, do Japanese people break down/decode kanji like we do with words? Like we do when learning the kanji? For example, I see 村 and think “a tree and measure… measuring for a… village!” to get the meaning. Do Japanese people do that with kanji? Or do they purely sight read?

Sorry if I’m not making sense. I am a teacher and I’m just wondering how it affects children learning to read, must be such a different way to learn!

~ Elle :heart:

5 Likes

I’m not sure I agree that you can’t just look at a long word like “extrapolate” as a whole. You don’t need to identify it letter by letter and like a computer program eliminating all the other possible words that begin the same way. Maybe I’m not quite understanding what you were trying to say.

When Japanese people learn kanji they of course are taught the elements that make up the kanji. When they learn 村 they would be told that the left side is きへん if they hadn’t already been taught that before. But they wouldn’t make a mnemonic like you’re describing, or the way we do on WaniKani. At least they typically don’t, from what I’ve seen of kanji lessons at Japanese schools.

They might be told that the on’yomi for 村, which is そん, is etymologically related to the on’yomi for 寸, which is すん, since that’s how the kanji was created. But since this kanji is learned early, like 2nd grade IIRC, they might not learn that right away, since it’s a bit more advanced of a concept.