Confused about Radicals?

I’m at the point where I need to decide if I want to pay to keep using WaniKani. I’m an fairly advanced Japanese student (passed N2 a while ago, but have no interest in taking N1), so everything so far is very basic, which is fine. I knew that would be the case, that’s not the problem.

My problem is the “poop” radical. WaniKani makes up a lot of kanji components into radicals, and gives them strange names, which is whatever, since I just add synonyms for things like “narwhal” which is hard to spell, but why lie about a radical that has an actual meaning? It’s the thread radical. It’s used in a lot of kanji that “tie things together” so to speak. Like thread. I’m not offended by the word poop–I love a good poop joke as much as the next person–it’s just that this radical has an actual meaning, and remembering the actual meaning in relation to kanji is better than some weird forced mnemonic?

I want to keep studying with WaniKani because my weakness lies in remembering readings for kanji, but I’m not sure I want to give my money to a company that touts remembering radicals but doesn’t seem to care about lying about the meanings of ones they didn’t make up. Does anyone else have this issue?

1 Like

You can always make synonyms for the answers if that specific radical name doesn’t work for you. However those radical names will help build other kanji for you, otherwise every single kanji needs a new mnemonic.

1 Like

Right, and I do use synonyms. I just don’t understand how “poop” is better than “thread” especially when mnemonics can be used to help remember the meanings of the kanji, too. It’s not like the kanji it’s used in have anything to do with poop.

When you get farther, the mnemonics that WK use for kanji that involve that radical have them relate to it being used as “poop” so if you memorize the mnemonic and name a different way those mnemonics later on might not be as helpful.