Coming from other study resources, can I skip levels on WK?

Hi, I have studied for a good few years but on and off, mainly learning form my Japanese friends, talking to people in Japan, kanjidamage, and various other, one might say “organic”, sources.

I am considering purchasing WK subscription for a year in the hopes of learning more 熟語, vocab and perhaps some grammar structures, which I’m still not great at, making up complex sentences as I speak is probably the hardest thing for me.

My question is, will WK allow me to selectively jump to a particular level that I feel is challenging enough for me? From what I can see so far, I have to start with basic radicals that have mnemonics that are different to what I studied originally. So in order to avoid re-learning what I already know, Is there a way to study things out of order on WK?

Thank you!

Sadly not. You do have to go through all levels in order.
That being said, I am in a similar situation, but I really like their system, so I don’t mind too much going through stuff I already know.
You have three levels to get a better idea. If you are still on the fence after that, I can also tell you that I started enjoying WK way more from level 5, so you may consider trying a one month subscription as well.

WK does not teach grammar. I guess you could figure some stuff out from reading the example sentences, but I wouldn’t rely on it. In any case you will have to find other resources for that.

Anyway, good luck!

2 Likes

Thanks Nath!

I wouldn’t mind going over the first few levels to get up to the challenging level, but I think it’ll take me a bit longer than that, so just clicking through quizzes might be not very productive.

Regarding the grammar, thanks okay, I’m sure I can find other sources to study it.
Thanks for the suggestions!

Technically, there’s no, or very little, clicking involved. It’s mostly typing…

1 Like