Can you give some context about day of the month puns?

Hopefully, I’m not going to get kicked out for my first question… I am a novice. Using google translate, this site refers to puns about dates: https://zatsuneta.com/category/anniversary11.html. For example, November 3rd is “Good birthday”, because 11 is a pun about “good” and 3 is a pun about おさん (お産)…

I guess that いい looks like 11? And さん is 3… so 3 is a pun about birth…

How far do these get stretched? November 4th is good embroidery day, because 11 is good and 4 is… “stab”?? Which means embroidery???

5 is apple, because ご in りんご (林檎)… Essentially, how far away from the meaning can these puns get and still be funny to a native speaker?

4 Likes

It’s essentially a form of Goroawase, a wordplay which involves forming words out of the sounds that numbers make. Or vice versa. 11 is いい because 1 is read as ち.

“Embroidery” in Japanese is 刺繍, the first character of which is read as し (i.e. the same as 四), and means “stab”.

But yeah, some of them are fairly laboured, and I dunno how typically native speakers read these sorts of things into the dates.

5 Likes

What a cool website!!! Yeah some of the puns are lost I think.

Interesting that today is both Nuclear Energy Day and Anti- Nuclear Energy Day.

Oh and welcome to the community!!

5 Likes

These are everywhere in Japan. Mostly I see it as an excuse to sell more stuff.

For example, a popular one I see is “Meat Day”. 肉の日 (2に9く)

4 Likes

The one that’s stuck in my head is ナイスの日, because it’s mentioned in The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (the anime movie). It’s July 13th - 七 (な) , 一 (ち), 三 (リー).

5 Likes

That should be June 9th.

1 Like

Ok, I’ll bite: why?

1 Like

giphy

2 Likes

I’m good with any explanation that doesn’t involve September 6th in the US.

Lol literally just got this in the mail!

2 Likes