Can we have Kunyomi and On'yomi for Radicals?

Hi I’m currently new in Wanikani and I’m currently trying to learn kanji. I found major plot-hole on the website which were they don’t include the readings of radicals. Kanji reading is there but for radical it’s not. For me it’s a big key to remember a radical using their readings because with this you can form kanji and knows what radicals is inside the kanji. looking for response for this. Thanks!

Radicals don’t have readings, even in Japanese. They have names, in either language.

It’s important to distinguish between kanji, which can appear in words, and radicals, which are just parts of kanji and have no pronunciation.

Sometimes a radical and the kanji it makes are the same shape, like in 山, but we don’t say the radical 山 has a reading.

The Japanese name of the radical 山 is やま when it appears on the top or bottom of a kanji, and that’s the same as the kunyomi of the kanji 山, but when it appears on the left side, like in 峠, the name is やまへん, so it’s not always the same there.

On WaniKani it will always be called “mountain” wherever it appears.

6 Likes

Radicals don’t have readings. I think you are misunderstanding what a radical is. Radicals are just building blocks for kanji, they have names, but they don’t have their own reading.

Edit: aw I got Leebo’d

9 Likes

I think I’m having a bit misunderstanding here. Sorry I’m really new with kanji. So for instance

[一]

1 strokes. Jōyō kanji, taught in grade 1. JLPT level N5. 2 of 2500 most used kanji in newspapers.

Meanings:

one, one radical (no.1)

Readings:

Kun: ひと-, ひと.つ On: イチ, イツ

Radical/Parts:

Radical: one 一 Parts: 一

at the part of Kun there’s a reading. Is this valid?

Those are readings for the kanji entry of 一.

The meaning section (on Jisho?) also just lets you know that that shape can also be a radical. For convenience. It doesn’t mean the radical has readings.