Caligraphy Set!

I began studying Japanese a few weeks before the holiday season, and a traditional Japanese-style calligraphy set was one of my only requests to my parents to be gifted for Christmas. I was excited to use it, but I felt like I needed to continue practicing my writing skills. Today, after almost two months of using pencils to make my flashcards(example on the bottom left), I felt ready to put it to use.

Look at how much more character my flashcards have now! Clearly I’m an amateur, but I feel like I’m making art every time I learn a new vocab or kanji.

25 Likes

I ordered a book from Amazon Japan, that teaches the way you can write most strokes. It’s entirely in Japanese, but it’s got big pictures:

Also, I know a calligraphy teacher who teaches online from the Netherlands.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CKcAuw-BTUm/

5 Likes

I compromise, I use the fudenosuke soft tip brush pen and write out all my WK reviews (kanji, main reading, main meaning). I also changed the font in wanikani to represent stroke types and stroke order with userscripts.

2 Likes

Oh, nice! I’m going to download that kanji stroke order script.

I combine the kanjistrokeorder script and an edited version of Jitai, I summarized the approach here: Jitai (字体): The font randomizer that fits - #495 by DasHannes

I get Yu Mincho as default font for basic stroke types and per mouseover I see the stroke order. Works great.

1 Like

If you like calligraphy it can be fun to watch on youtube. There are channels like this one and here’s another one. And a video for writing hiragana with a brush pen. Makes me feel self conscious about my poor handwriting though :sob:

Also, calligraphy is a fantastic way to review the kanji I think. Good job!

2 Likes