Beginner Help, Second Thoughts on Busuu

A few months ago, I started learning Japanese with DuoLingo, although I was mostly into it for learning Katakana and Hiragana since the actual language learning portion seemed very casual. Maybe a month afterwards I started on WaniKani and Busuu too really dive into Japanese once I had a handle on Hiragana and Katakana. While I thought pretty highly of Busuu at first, now that I’m at the A2 portion of it, I’m beginning to wonder if it’s the right method for me. I’m able to read and understand Japanese vocabulary and sentence structure much better now, but when it comes time for Busuu to ask me to write or speak on the fly, I often struggle to remember the proper structure for what it’s asking of me. Thinking on it, most of the tasks in the app have you either unjumbling a sentence or filling in gaps with premade sentences while audio plays of someone saying it as a picture or video with heavy context is on screen, often making it very easy to answer a problem without thinking critically on it. It feels like Busuu gives me very little room to think critically and come up with solutions myself, so on the rare occasion that it asks me to use my head, I struggle with more complicated sentence structure, but I also sometimes struggle to find old topic that I’m struggling with to review it. There is a review section in Busuu, but it seems somewhat incomplete, as many vocabulary words aren’t added to the review section and the particle ga/が, for instance, isn’t under the list of particles until B1, even though it’s been used in my lessons. Is there anyone here that’s finished or at least gotten deeper into the Japanese section of Busuu that could tell me if it demands more of you later without so much handholding? If not, could someone give me some ideas of a different resource to learn from? I’d like to take Japanese seriously and become totally fluent.

1 Like