At what point would you be comfortable saying "I know Japanese" to people

Heya. This is my first time posting here so sorry if I messed something up. But as the title says, at what point would you be comfortable telling others that you know Japanese? I know enough where I could probably impress someone who knows nothing of the language but I’d personally never say I know it lol. I mostly say I’m studying it. Just a question that popped into my head while pondering at what point did I verbally feel comfortable calling myself an artist.

12 Likes

I don’t think I would ever say it except as an answer to a question like “Does anyone here know Japanese?” and then I can be like “I do.”

Thinking on my conversations, I usually tell people I study Japanese.

But at the same time, I wouldn’t judge someone for using it. In casual conversation it doesn’t mean “I know everything about Japanese” or something like that.

14 Likes

Ah yeah, I agree on not judging someone based on the answer since “I know everything about this subject” is very rarely what people mean haha I do feel, however, that people who aren’t studying a language can hear the statement of “Yes I do know Japanese” and view it as a show of extreme confidence. If I were to compare it to anything I’d say when I say to some people who aren’t artists that I’m an artist I’m poked with assumptions way above my skill level lol.

2 Likes

Woah, that’s a good question! I think I’d be comfortable saying I know Japanese when I’m at the point where I can read a whole volume of manga and understand it lol. Also I would need to be able to converse in a regular conversation in Japanese.

7 Likes

Hmm, honestly a solid question. I would personally say that someone truly “knows” Japanese once they are at around the same level as native speakers. However, just like Leebo mentioned, I would usually just say that I’m studying it, rather than knowing the language.

2 Likes