Are you using books (textbooks or any learning book) to learn Japanese

Hi! I hope you’re having a good day! I wanted to ask you if you use any books to learn Japanese. If you do, can you tell me which books you use or recommend something. I’ll take care to check all the books you recommend. Also, I am a beginner. I know how to introduce myself, can read hiragana and katakana, read around 50 kanji characters and form very simple phrases. Thank you so much.:hugs::pray:

2 Likes

I used the first Japanese From Zero! book, which helped me learn how to write hiragana. My soul started getting cramped from all the writing though, so I gave up on continuing (I have all the rest of the books, plus Kanji From Zero!. Maybe I’ll refer to them at some point for the grammar alone. I just won’t write everything by hand!).

2 Likes

While i myself do not use any textbooks the most commonly used textbooks are the genki text books and heisigs remembering the kanji from what i have heard if you want any help learning kanji you should grab the free kanji pdf from japanese pod 101 that pdf is quite useful

2 Likes

Oh yeah that kanji book that teaches radicals is pretty good. I grabbed that when I used JapanesePod101 like a year ago.

2 Likes

It is also worth getting the pdf for taekims guide to japanese for learning grammar that one can also be found for free

2 Likes

Yeah and there are apps you can get that have it too, I have it on my Android phone. Good stuff!

1 Like

I am currently using Genki I. It is quite nice, but whenever I do not understand a specific point, I refer to Tae Kim’s Grammar Guide. :blush:

1 Like

Not a book, but I recommend Organic Japanese with Cure Dolly on Youtube for learning grammar. She has the best explanations of how Japanese grammar works that I’ve encountered.

6 Likes

Goes to show that there are many resources that can be found online