Are the specific mnemonic stories crucial?

Hi, I’m a total newbie and I have a question that I thought I’d better get clarity on before I get much further.

Is it important to remember the exact stories that are provided? Like, for ‘man’, I can easily remember だん as it rhymes and in my accent sounds exactly like it would in Japanese. But the mnemonic says a different story.

For ‘number’ (ごう) it says I should remember the character “Grandpa Koichi” but that doesn’t help me at all, and I have my own memory cue for that that seems to work.

My worry is that these stories are then built on down the line and so I will fine it difficult if I don’t remember them now. Is this the case? Or is each story unique to the kanji/vocab/radical?

Thank you!

~ Elle

6 Likes

Don’t worry; there’s no need to remember the exact stories of the mnemonics. Feel free to create your own or just learn the kanji without them if that’s what helps you remember. Because after all the mnemonics are just a tool to make the readings and meanings stick, and even if you do use them, they should eventually fade away.
Having said that, there is indeed a kind of structure to them, in that each reading is usually associated with the same mnemonic person/animal/scenario to make things easier. E.g. the reading こう is associated with Kouichi, the creator of WaniKani.
But this doesn’t work out 100% I think, so it’s just a tool on a larger scale.
Anyways, bottomline: Use the mnemonics if they make sense to you, replace them if something better comes to mind, and ultimately let them go :slight_smile:

7 Likes

I’m only on level 5, but so far I only look to the mnemonics as a hint if I can’t think of a way to remember it myself. Come up with your own, if you like, there’s a notes section if you wanna record it for posterity. The hardest part is remembering the readings given for the kanji before they introduce vocab with that kanji. After that, it’s easier because you are seeing it used in context.

2 Likes