Anki v WaniKani

I have been using the Anki app for vocabulary/Kanji learning for several months. I have been using the WaniKani app for two months. I’m not sure why but I seem to be able to learn a lot more vocabulary and Kanji with WK than I can with Anki. Maybe WK feels a bit more like a quiz that you have to beat, which in turn makes it fun to use. There are still certain words that seem to stick quickly and some that seem to take forever. Has anyone else found it easier with WK than Anki and do you have blind spot words/kanji.

3 Likes

what exactly do your cards look like in anki? i used primarily anki for all the vocab i know (12,000 or so words i’d estimate) and playing with different formats has helped a lot in how much i enjoy it and how much i get out of it.

Well I’m using mainly shared decks for Genki vocabulary and kanji. I am still learning things using the Anki app, I just think WK is more fun to use. My Japanese teacher said that if it was fun to use you will probably get more out it. I do like Anki but if I had to choose WK would get my vote. I also use other sources for learning. At the end of the day I just enjoy learning Japanese wherever it comes from.

1 Like

My guess is that the difference comes from typing out your answers. WK makes you type them out whereas anki you can just hit again, hard, good, etc. Depending on how you have it set up of course. I know some decks have cloze deletion on them. But also, I agree that the gamification aspect probably has a lot to do with it as well.

2 Likes

Do you also find there are some words or Kanji that take more time to stick than others. I find it interesting that some words/Kanji only need to be seen once and I’ve got it, meanwhile, others can take an age to fully lodge in my tiny mind. Is this something that effects lots of people do you think. I hope it’s not just me. LOL