An Unexpected Kanji Journey - Level 60 in 1357 days

Well, I finally made it. After nearly 4 years of grinding reviews inbetween juggling work, school, and my personal life I’ve leveled up one last time. Truth be told, I never really expected to get this far as I mostly started learning Japanese on a whim during the pandemic, but my studies have brought me to places I never thought possible and wanikani has played a non-insignificant role in that.

Before I ramble on for too long I guess I’ll put my advice/tips for both wanikani and Japanese language study here at the top. Although I would like to put a disclaimer that although I am majoring in second langauge teaching my advice is mostly based on my own personal experience and your experience may vary. The best advice I can give is learn what works best for you.

WaniKani Advice

• Try not to worry about how fast you’re progressing.

While some people manage to progress through all 60 levels at a breakneck speed, this is simply not obtainable for most people. It’s far more important to learn to set a pace and a habit that you can keep up with in the long term. Even though at my pace it took me nearly 4 years to get to level 60 I still found that my kanji/vocabulary knowledge kept up with or exceeded the pace of the rest of my Japanese studies.

• Do at least some reviews every day

That’s not to say you can’t take breaks for holidays or other important events, but I found that doing at least a little bit every day was a good way to keep up the habit in the long term. Personally I found it helpful to incorporate my reviews into my morning routine.

• Shadow the vocabulary audio!

In my opinion, one of the biggest advantages that WaniKani has over its competition is its audio samples for all of its vocabulary items. It might feel silly to repeat random Japanese words to yourself in your room, but it’s a great way to continuously improve your pronunciation/intonation. Pay special attention to pitch accents!