Advice on stopping

Hi everyone!

I have been studying english for 10 months now, and I started WaniKani like 7 months ago. I am at level 23 and advancing a good pace, but I am worried that I am neglecting other parts of the language. I started online classes three months ago and I feel like y have much more vocabulary and kanji knowledge than the average in my class, but grammar and specially listening I am clearly behind.

I was thinking on stopping doing lessons and just passing the reviews so they don’t pile up so I get the time to focus more on those areas. I am pretty depending on gamification, tho, and I am afraid that pausing the evolution will work against me on the long run.

Any advice you can give me I will be eternally grateful!

5 Likes

It’s definitely possible to do it. Some people find it hard to come back to it, others don’t think it’s that big of a deal. I personally don’t really have a problem with it, I stop doing lessons during exam season at university and then afterwards continue as usual

4 Likes

Instead of completely stopping maybe you can lower it a little bit. Then lower it again after sometime. If you do 20 lessons aday try doing only 18 or 17. After a while you can figure out how many lessons can you handle before it becomes hinderance to your other studies.

1 Like

When I was level 22 I stopped my lessons and reviews for about three months. When I came back I could hardly get anything from the recent levels correct. I managed to pull through all the way to level 24 before giving up and resetting back to level 1. So for me, personally, I couldn’t come back after a long break, but as someone said above - it’s a very personal thing, and you might find it easier than I did

1 Like

Pausing lessons but continuing to do reviews is a good approach I think. I did that several times when I was using WaniKani.

5 Likes