Advice for practising listening at low levels

I just finished Genki 2 and I would confidently say that I am about level N4 at reading and grammar/kanji, etc. However, I suck at listening. I had no problems understanding the audio material from genki because it was spoken relatively slow and clearly. However, after taking a practice JLPT N4 test, I realised that I could not understand most of the listening part because it was too damn fast.

I tried listening to learning material, but everything is either too easy or too hard. The complete beginner content is too easy and doesn’t help me progress at all. However, beginner-intermediate level material is just too fast. I tried listening to children’s anime like Doraemon without subtitles, but still to me everything sounds like a mess of random sounds from which I can only understand a few words here and there.

Did any of you had any difficulties with the learning curve of listening? How did you overcome it? Do you have any material you could recommend me that would be around my level?

Thank you very much.

1 Like

The best way to get past the “mess of random words” stage might be to watch something like Doraemon with Japanese subtitles, instead of English subtitles or no subtitles at all, to help you build the skill of parsing separate words even when they speak very fast.

It will still be very fast at first, and you might struggle to understand most of what’s happening while you do both reading and listening at the same time, but seeing the words that are being spoken will quickly help you pick up listening speed. And more importantly, you will get used to filling in the blanks of which syllables are written but not spoken - kind of the way we say “gonna” but write “going to”.

Officially I can’t share the website I use to watch anime with Japanese subtitles because it is against the rules lol. But if you google around a bit, you will find some options of websites you can use to immerse with no English.

2 Likes