Additional information on meanings (feedback)

Hi! I’m loving WaniKani so far and have learned so much in the 2-ish months I’ve been using it. I have in this time noticed that I’m sometimes confused as to the meaning of the english word you’re referring to for the kanji that you present. For instance, if the word 引き分け only said “tie” I wouldn’t know if it referred to the clothing apparel, there being a tie/draw or to tie something. While the problem isn’t present with this word as it also has the synonym “draw” added to it, there are enough other words where I have been confused.

As a UX designer myself, I understand that this is a corner case and you probably don’t want to clutter the lessons with too much information so that it remains easily digestable. But perhaps some well thought out text can be added to the “hint” box that is already there, or make sure there is example vocabulary that illustrates its meaning (which I believe you already do to some extent).

Anyway, it’s just something I’ve noticed with a few select words that I can’t remember from the top of my head. I don’t know if anyone else has noticed this, but if so and they know of words that have unclear meanings, we can compile some sort of list that could need just a tiny bit of clarification :slight_smile:

Thanks!

3 Likes

There are also example sentences, which should theoretically clear up this kind of ambiguity. Though those aren’t always the most approachable part of lessons…

6 Likes

Also the mnemonics for the meaning are also generally written in a way that kind of clear up confusion. (but not always)
For example, the mnemonic of 引き分け is :

When you pull something and separate it, you are making everything even. In a game, this would be a tie or a draw.

1 Like

I second this. If you’re a beginner like me who’s learning grammar, most sentences are useless. Plus, they require extra knowledge on Kanji and even more vocab I haven’t been taught.

1 Like