440 days to lvl 60 - a speedy-ish run

It feels like these lvl 60 posts are coming in thick and fast nowadays (well done everyone!!), and I love that I get to write my own today :balloon:

a bit about my journey
Back in January 2021, I knew 0 Japanese bar ありがとう and こんにちは - I had no previous Japanese knowledge, never took any classes, Japanese writing just looked like squiggles (hiragana) or a downright mess (kanji) to me. BUT, I started learning Korean to distract myself from covid doomscrolling 2 summers ago, and read somewhere that the 2 languages are fairly similar, so decided to learn Japanese to boost my Korean (I am yet to find out how much this will really help me).

At first it was a bit rough as I hadn’t actively studied anything after finishing university a decade ago, but I got sucked into the joys of Wanikani quickly, and here I am!

a few thoughts

• whilst WK doesn’t work for everyone, it definitely worked for me and so far this has been the most effective language learning tool I’ve ever used; I love a good goal (aka lvl 60)
  • the vocab lessons are your friend; sometimes I’d struggle with kanji, but as soon as I learned them in context with other kanji to form vocab words they started to stick
  • accuracy isn’t everything; my average accuracy is at around 84% overall - whilst this resulted in more reviews for me to work through, it also made a lot more stick in the long run as I repeated things over and over
  • Keeping up with WK wasn’t easy - I spent a looot of hours, every day, keeping on top of my reviews (with a few hiccups due to moving jobs and flats as seen in my graph); ultimately, what got me through was how much joy it brought me, and how much I love learning kanji - not seeing WK as a chore has made a big difference in my journey :100:

gratitude