379 days of WaniKani and reading books

社会不適合者の日記

After a bit more than a year I have finally reached level 60 on Wanikani, reviewed all grammar elements on BunPro, and most importantly: read seven visual novels and five novels. Before I started studying Japanese I read multiple anecdotal stories of people who have reached a high level of proficiency in Japanese within a short time span. This allowed me to develop my own study strategy, set realistic expectations, and become aware of any potential pitfalls. Now, having studied Japanese for a year, I believe my own anecdotal story could prove beneficial to others.

身の上話 ~ Why I started learning Japanese

The first time I attempted to study Japanese was actually fours years ago. In contrast to many, I was never an avid fan of Japanese cartoons and comic books, my academic major was completely unrelated to Japanese, and moving to Japan would mean a substantial decrease in my quality of life as well. The one benefit I would have to learning Japanese was that I would be able to play more Dragon Quest games, which often do not get translated. I just thought it would be cool to learn Japanese, since the language is very distinct to what I am used to.

I spent a few months on Wanikani and Bunpro, but quit the moment I got a relationship which quickly got my priority. Due to her having as of then undiagnosed Borderline Personality Disorder, it ended in complete disaster after approximately 3 years. The aftermath left me craving some form of escapism. After reading some articles written by people claiming to have achieved a high level of Japanese by simply reading novels and watching cartoons, I got inspired to pick up Japanese again. Not only could I have some escapism by reading things and watching shows, I could do it under the pretense of being productive, since it allowed me to learn a language.