本; different etymologies for different meanings?

So I’ve learned that 本 can mean “book” or “origin”. Does each meaning have a different etymology? Like, did the words for “book” and “origin” happen to be homophones, so they decided to use one Kanji for the both of them? Or did one meaning grow out of the other-- like, is the idea of “book” somehow related to the idea of “origin”? And if they are etymologically unrelated, do other etymologically unrelated words share Kanji?

3 Likes

According to this stackexchange answer that references the 語源 page for 本, the Kanji depicts the roots of a tree and that’s where the origin meaning comes from. The book meaning came about later as the same word was used for the plate they used in making paper copies.

4 Likes

I’m no expert but a little bit of googling seemed to provide a good answer. If you look at the kanji, it’s basically one additional stroke compared to 木 (tree) which is supposed to accentuate the stuff under the tree - the roots. And the connection between roots and origin are apparent not only in Chinese / Japanese but in English as well.

本 later developed to mean book as well, but I’m afraid my Japanese isn’t good enough to understand this website well enough: 本/ほん - 語源由来辞典
Also some information in English: 本 - Wiktionary

(I guess I was a little too slow compared to alo, but I’m still gonna post this answer, who cares :stuck_out_tongue:)

5 Likes

There is the concept of ateji, where certain kanji get used for a word, only because they sound alike. You could write すし as 鮨 or 寿司 where the second one is ateji.

2 Likes

thanks! that’s really interesting

It never crossed my mind that the horizontal line is meant to emphasis the roots. thanks!

I thought there was something like “ateji”, but I didn’t know for sure or what it was called. thanks