だ and です : Venturing Beyond Textbook Rules into Real-Life Use

Hey y’all :wave: Just wanted to share our new article about だ and です with you guys :wink:

53 Likes

I’m only about halfway through, but wanted to say that I’m totally digging the article. Very informative. Love the work you all put in for us learners.

5 Likes

Great article !

I have a case study of such da/desu mixture, from the book “Read Real Japanese” , a collection of short essay by contemporary writers. The essay of Murakami starts with:

僕は噓をつくのは得意ではない。でも噓をつくこと自体はそれほど嫌いではない。変な言い方だけど、つまり「噓をつくのは苦手だけど、害のない出鱈目を言うのはけっこう好き」ということです

(I’m not good at telling lie. But telling a lie in itself is not something I particularly hate. It may sound odd, but, in other words, I’m bad at big lies but I’m quite fond of telling harmless and absurd lies.)

Based on the article, I understand that the first two ではない sentences give a self-reflexive feeling, Murakami just telling harsh, objective facts about himself, and the switch to masu form with ということです give the feeling as if he directly address the readers, to explain to us what he means ? What do you think about it @TofuguKanae ? Thanks !

3 Likes

Why aren’t there more replies to this!? I absolutely love the visuals, the examples, and the thorough sourcing of different materials to help write about this phenomenon. It really did cover the gamut of “real-life usage”. It really inspires me to look at reading Yoshimoto Banana sometime for studying and struggling…

I’m so glad you guys are back to writing articles. This sort of stuff is absolutely my jam. I crave it.

3 Likes

やった!私天才だ!

Does this sentence really work in Japanese? I’m just a beginner but I definitely expected a particle between 私 and 天才 there.

1 Like

That was really interesting, thank you for all the work!

On a side note, I think there’s a typo in the retranscription of the excerpt of Villon’s Wife. 所詮’s furigana seem to have stuck when it was copy-pasted, which turned into 所詮しょせん.

1 Like