What language should I learn after Japanese (Maybe Korean?)

So I’m nearly done with Wanikani yay :slight_smile: My grammar is around N3, my vocabulary is getting there and now my Kanji is close to N2. I’m going to focus more on native texts like Satori Reader, Japanese TV, iTalki and Journal Writing. I’m also going to focus more time for JLPT.

As I have more free time, and I have always wanted speak 3 languages, which language would you recommend learning next? I tried learning Thai, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin but never got as far as my motivation was low. I’m thinking Korean, but learning another difficult language might make my brain explode. Plus I don’t want to lose my Japanese for Korean.

Recommendations / Opinions / Ideas

Background: I’m a Japanese Language Teacher, so having another language under my belt would help in scoring me a HOD job :slight_smile:

7 Likes

How about Ainu?

8 Likes

Hmmm I really enjoyed learning Arabic ( I’m a complete beginner just had a bunch of friends)
Spanish was highly spoken in my area so I tried that.
Is there a second language commonly used where you are?

But of course if you are getting drawn to Korean go that way.

If I could handle another language I’d choose Vietnamese because there are many Vietnamese people around my city these days.

2 Likes

How about Klingon? I hear the Guardians are hiring.

6 Likes

If you’re interested in Korean, go for it! I’m currently learning both, and I find it very enjoyable.

Korean is hard, not going to deny that, but if you’ve learned Japanese from scratch I see no reason to think that Korean is too hard. Just take the time to properly learn the pronunciation in the beginning (1st significant hurdle), and then you’ll be well on your way.