Wanikani Companion available (for free) on Windows 8.1 and Windows 10

Hi there,

I’ve been using Wanikani for a few weeks now and I found it to be great and a fun way to learn Japanese.
Since I am a developer - and because I finally found some free time - I wrote myself a little companion app for the Windows Store. It is Windows 8.1+ and 10 compatible and) It has been certified by Microsoft this morning. So it should be available to anyone that searches for “wanikani” in the store.

It’s nothing incredible at the moment : you are able to see your avatar, the number of available lessons/reviews, your current level advancement, and how many words have been mastered so far. You can also directly click on the profile, lessons and reviews to open these pages in your default browser.
The two “cool” features however are:

• the live tile, which is updated from time to time with the latest information
  • the toast notifications, which can be configured to popup whenever there are enough reviews available
It’s a universal app, but I did not do the windows phone part (yet, at least).

Comments (negative or positive) are appreciated.

Best regards,

Jalayn

Cool! Really looking forward to it. Especially if you make a mobile version.

That’s great! Thanks for your hard work! I will be using it definitely, but it seems to be not available in the store yet. 

Hi. Just started using this today. The pop up alerts are very useful especially since I tend to forget the time :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot!

Glad that it can be helpful, and not just to me !
The app should now be available to anyone, whether it is on Windows 8.1 or Windows 10 (at least it’s what Microsoft tells me :-))

Hey @jalayn, it isn’t showing my level progression properly

EDIT: Crap, nevermind, it was right.

Hey @json, you may have been right in fact.

The number of calls to the wanikani website is limited to 100/hour (at least, that’s what it says on the api page).