Trying to understand new vocab without full context

Hello fellow travelers! I’m back on the WaniKani wagon after using it for a couple months once and then forgetting about it for two or three years. It’s going much better this time, and I’m making a lot of progress, but there’s one difficulty that flares up for me from time to time:

When I’m learning new vocab, it’s easy to memorize the correct answer, but it’s not always easy to know how to use that word correctly in a sentence. This usually happens with verbs–nouns and adjectives are easier to visualize. It makes me feel like I’m not really learning the vocab, I’m just learning how to get the answer right within WaniKani.

Does anyone else feel like this? Do you just let it wash over you even if you don’t have a perfect understanding? Or do you have a method for finding more info/example sentences so you can have a fuller understanding of the word? Maybe it’s best to not worry about it for now, and then re-learn the word when I encounter it in native material in the future?

2 Likes

I’d say don’t worry about it, as:

1. That’s not what WK is for.
  2. Trying to get get that level of understanding from the beginning is doomed to fail.

Vocab breadth is critical when you’re starting out (and you get that as a bonus with WK) so that it’s easier to puzzle through native material. Depth comes naturally with more exposure to the native material.

I heard quite a good analogy, about learning being like spiraling up a mountain as you climb it. As you travel up and around the mountain, you keep revisiting the same views, but each time, you can see a little further.

9 Likes