Thoughts on assigning yourself homework, quizzes, tests, etc

I’ve been self-studying Japanese since September 2023 pretty intensely, averaging 3 to 4 hours a day, mainly a course on the Busuu language learning app and of course WaniKani. I’m probably A2 / N5 level according to the language app by now (which I take with a HUGE grain of salt because that’s probably just marketing tactics).

Anyway, as I learn more grammar points, vocabulary, and kanji, it’s getting more difficult to remember what I previously learned in my studies. So I was wondering if I should try assigning myself some homework based on what I learned previously, maybe even quiz myself every so often. I don’t get any of those things when self-studying.

WaniKani already has reviews based on the SRS so that’s good. I’m already being quizzed and tested periodically. Lately, I got myself an iTalki tutor and she did give me homework. That’s also good.

For the language app though, I definitely feel that some things, I’ve forgotten. What do you think about giving oneself homework for each lesson? Like for example, in one lesson, you learn a specific grammar point, you assign yourself homework such as generate 2 or 3 sentences of your own using that grammar point that is due in a couple of days.

It will of course significantly slow down my burning through the lessons, learning as quickly as possible. It has already slowed down lately because things are getting more challenging. I used to average 3 or 4 lessons in Busuu per day, now it’s down to maybe 2 and if I’m extremely super lucky, maybe 3 lessons.

3 Likes

In general, homework is something that people famously don’t want to do, so framing it that way sounds like a quick way to discourage yourself from doing it. :laughing: