So confused!

I already knew, before I started learning Kanji, that certain characters have multiple readings. But I’m confused.

How do I know when to use one reading in a certain context, and another reading in a different one? Is there a way to keep from getting them mixed up, apart from Furigana?

1 Like

Learning vocabulary is the best way. It’s basically memorization, but the mnemonics help.
In WaniKani, the first reading you learn with the kanji will be the most common one, so it’s a safe guess to make when you see this kanji in a word. However, as a general rule when a Kanji on its own is a word it will use a different reading.

1 Like

It feels super confusing for the first few weeks/months! Don’t worry too much. Just keep working at it and soon it will feel natural! And like you are saying, context will begin to guide you, the more you learn. Best of luck!

To give a simple comparison to English, how do you know the word meaning “not possible” is impossible, and not unpossible? Why does illegal use il, but irresponsible uses ir? It’s just something you get used to as you learn more words.

11 Likes

I know that it doesn’t seem like it’s possible, but just trust me that you begin to recognize patterns extremely easily. I’m only a couple months in and I can usually always tell how to pronounce any sentence using the kanji I’ve learned so far. It’s knowledge of vocabulary and sentence structure.

2 Likes

I always thought memorizing the kanji characters was the hardest part of learning kanji, but then I started to learn kanji and I found out that that is the easy part and the actual hard part is remembering the readings.
But it gets easier as you learn more words, and WaniKani teaches you thousands of them. Even if you don’t need a particular word, learning it will help to reinforce the readings.

1 Like

The thing I don’t understand is, for example: When do I use “sui” instead of “mizu”, or “hi” instead of “nichi”?