Same kanji but wrong meaning

I’m just starting out and this app seems to be the best way to staying dedicated in learning kanji however i am getting very annoyed when it comes to same kanji. i end up getting a wrong answer when the english or japanese translation comes up such as fire either meaning ‘hi’ or ‘ka’ but then i get them mixed up and get the wrong answer even though both are the same. There are times when it allows me to re try as i choose the non on’yomi reading, but that’s about it.
is there a reason why i should keep going on past level 3? i find that it might be easier just looking up certain kanji and studying that rather than testing it but im not sure i need a community opinion :frowning:

No reason to keep going on past level 3 :wink: We are all here for no reason :wink:

But seriously - of course it makes sense, if you like the SRS system. And you will get the different readings over time.

2 Likes

Hi, welcome to WaniKani! :sparkles: :crabigator: :sparkles:

you’re probably not going to get a very unbiased opinion here ^^

So, I think what’s actually happening here is that you’re getting muddled up between the kanji reviews and the vocab reviews. When you get a review come up which is purple, it means that it’s asking you about a specific word. Sometimes this word will only be one kanji long, but it’s still asking about the word rather than the kanji, so there is a correct way to read it.

Let’s take your example of ‘fire’.

The kanji 火 can be read ひ or か. If you get a pink review, it’s asking about the kanji. If you put in the reading it isn’t looking for, it will shake and ask you to try again.

The word 火 is read ひ. There’s no wriggle room here; the word for ‘fire’ is read ひ. If you get a purple review, it’s asking about the word ひ and you’ll be marked wrong if you input か.