Review timers

(A slight variation on an already suggested idea)

Basically, since in actual usage you don’t have forever to recall a word, impose a time limit in reviews for better training. The first 2 seconds let’s say is a regular correct answer, and the penalty increases after that until the timer runs out at let’s say 30 seconds, at which point it is treated like a wrong answer. For higher level words (Guru>Apprentice etc), either the timer would get shorter or the penalty would be increased. Or both.
This would of course be optional, with the alternative being the original untimed review mode. The timer/penalty severity should be adjustable too, since we couldn’t possibly all be comfortable with the default.
I don’t know if WK in it’s current state can be changed to support this kind of thing.
It might also not be a good idea. My intuition says the training should match reality as close as possible, but I’m by no means an expert, and SRS is quite different from what I’ve seen elsewhere, so perhaps it works best as is.

Not a bad idea. However, some people don’t have very reliable internet connections. If somebody starts a review session and then his connection dies, what happens to his reviews?

I think a timer would just add unwanted pressure on people.

4 Likes

I didn’t read the whole OP, however… I do believe a userscript or two in this area already exists…

Just take a look at the pinned list of userscripts in the API section.

@AnimeCanuck is correct. Here it is.

@plantron, technically, this is a manageable scenario.
I think the bigger concern stems from:

as right now we have a way solid measure to really know where we stand. Implementing a scoring scale would entail either tagging it on to the current system (and not necessarily knowing what it means since it would be a result of all your reviews and an abstraction), or it would entail revamping the entire system. Making this optional would only confuse matters.