My retention seems to be getting worse

I’ve been using WaniKani daily for the past 10 months or so and I’m currently on level 12. I try to do 10 new lessons per day and all the reviews. I mostly manage to do that, unless I’m sick or feeling bad, then I might skip new lessons and do just the reviews.

Anyway, I’ve noticed that from around lvl 10 and upwards, my retention of new items is getting much worse. I used to be able to recall majority of new items at the next review. Now, I feel like I can hardly remember anything I’ve learned in the morning and it takes a couple of failed attempts before it’s starting to stick.

Is this normal? My progress hasn’t been that fast as it is, I don’t want to slow it down even more by having to fail most new items all the time. Did I reach a point of oversaturation?

5 Likes

Have you been doing anything else with the language besides wanikani? Learning grammar, reading, watching youtube, shows, etc?

6 Likes

Are you doing the reviews once per day, or multiple times a day?

I’ve started Bunpro about 2 months ago, but I’m only doing one new item per day there, sometimes not even that.

Other than occasional easy reading/anime, I’m not doing anything else besides WaniKani.

1 Like

Typically once in the morning and then once in the afternoon. If I have time, I do a few in between as well, but most days it’s twice a day.

1 Like

Is the issue potentially struggling mostly during the first review cycle after your lessons? If so, I’d recommend doing a quiz 15-30 minutes after your initial lessons. I use the self-study script to ensure I just do the most recent lessons. I’ve found this really solidifies my initial memory before I do my first review. Before I did this, it might have taken 2-3 reviews at Apprentice 1 before it finally sunk in.

1 Like

I think scaling up your time spent on non-wanikani things would help. Maybe a daily reading habit? Words stick much better when you see them in context.

6 Likes