My Realistic Restart Study Log

Introduction
This will be the start of my “Reboot” here on WaniKani. I’ve been studying Japanese for 1 and a half years now. I am a slow learner, but I am persistent, as well as consistent (mostly). This log will serve to give me accountability, as well as give future hope to those who took the slow road. My overall goal is not to memorize as much as I can in X time, it is simply to become fluent in several years, as well as read native material sooner. I realize setting goals is important, so I will simply set the goal of using WaniKani every single day until I clear the lessons. Be it fast, or slow, I will show up. I used WaniKani for several months in 2023, but neglected it afterwards, and as a result I have reset today, March 3, 2024.

What has my journey looked like so far?
I started learning Japanese at the end of 2022. I bought Genki, and Started an anki deck to encompass all vocabulary in Genki 1+ 2. I used anki consistently for 9 months, building up to about 800 known kanji (or so I thought, we’ll talk about that later), and completed Genki 1. Then, December 2023, I realized I was unable to recall most of the kanji I had spent 400+ hours cramming with anki, and I couldn’t speak much at all when given the opportunity. This discouraged me greatly as an hour a day for the past yerar felt wasted, until I realized where I went wrong and changed things this year.

The Error of my Ways and the Anki trap