Level 60 Fox

I’ve finally made it to level 60. I never made an introduction thread so this can serve that purpose as well.

I am a software developer by profession. I occasionally draw in my spare time and I like videogames.

WaniKani

I started off buying a yearly subscription since it seemed like I could finish in about two years which would be cheaper than paying for a lifetime subscription. Before the year was up it was looking like I wouldn’t actually hit the 2-year goal and, even if I did, I knew that getting to level 60 isn’t really the end. When the time for renewal came up I bought the annual subscription again with the intention of buying lifetime when it went on sale in December, which I did.

Anyway, I actually did manage to get to level 60 before two years, which is better than I was expecting.

About Learning Japanese

I started learning Japanese around this date two years ago. After a couple of weeks of learning hiragana and katakana I moved straight on to WaniKani. I started learning grammar through Tae Kim’s guide at first and then learned most of the rest through Cure Dolly’s videos.

I don’t study diligently, I just do WaniKani lessons and reviews and then listen to or read Japanese content for the sole purpose of entertainment. I went to some Japanese classes for a while but it mainly was just reinforcing things I had learned on my own. I left since it was pretty expensive and I don’t have as much money as before.

I don’t have any particular purpose for learning Japanese anymore, I’m just doing it for the sake of it at this point. I keep up with Japanese purely out of habit and it’s going well for me.

What’s Next