Learning Kanji as a Chinese speaker

Hi guys, I’m new to WaniKani and just recently started learning Kanji. However, I find it rather confusing as a Chinese speaker as some of the Kanji looks similar to Chinese characters yet have very different meanings to them. Maybe this may not be the best platform to ask this, but I would really appreciate any advice on how to overcome this issue. Thank you!

7 Likes

Some kanji do have different meaning than their equivalent hanzi but you still have a head start for most kanji, compared to e.g. native English speakers. The most common kanji like 開始, 世界, 美, and many others have the same meaning (and somewhat similar reading). Others can be deduced quickly from context, such as 午前.

There are some “false friends”, for example 娘 means daughter in Japanese but mother in Chinese. However, there are lots of false friends in other language pairings too. “Burro” means donkey in Spanish but butter in Italian.

15 Likes

Maybe this list helps a bit:

3 Likes

I see that you’re on level 1. Since you’re a new user, I have to ask: Do you know the difference between Radicals and Kanji here on WaniKani? Radicals are used as building blocks for other kanji.

If you look at 一 you’ll see that it means ONE as a kanji, but GROUND as a radical. That’s because it’s used as the building block GROUND in other kanji later. It does not mean that the kanji means ground in Japanese.

Keep your eye on the background color of the characters. If you see a blue background color, you’re looking at a radical. If you see a pink background color, you’re looking at a kanji. And if you’re looking at a purple background, you’re looking at a vocab item.

一 as a radical:

As a kanji:

And as vocab

1 Like

I think the confusion is more the fact that the even though the Hanzi and Kanji radicals are similar, they are by no means the same and it can be confusing due to what @flower_junkie mentioned about false friends.