Leaning Kanji With the Rorschach Inkblot Technique

こんにちは皆さん、

Hi, I’m hoping to get some reactions/feedback from my fellow kanji learners about some improvements I think could be made to the WaniKani system. I graduated from WaniKani late last year, and currently have 8,865 burned items, so I am very familiar with the WaniKani process. For the most part I love it. The spaced repetitions, the frequency of reviews, the ‘flashcarding,’ etc. are all great. My problems with Wani were the mnemonics—first too wordy and second no radical mnemonics to teach how to write kanji. Once, while studying something in the level-20s, I thought of a kanji that I had already burned and could read with ease (前 mae or zen (front)) and wondered if I could draw it without cheating. I could not. That’s when I started ignoring all of Wani’s word-based mnemonics and created my own system based on pareidolia (interpreting meaning from images, the Rorschach inkblots being the most famous example) and it’s worked great for me; I can now read and write (with fast recall) all 2,000 kanjis and radicals. I did this just as a personal exercise to help me learn, but it worked so well that now I’m wondering if it could work for other students too. Below are a few examples—what do you think? Would this type of picture-to-picture learning alternative be helpful to you? Are there other things you think could be added to make it even better? Let me and Wani know if it looks like something that you’d be interested in seeing more of, and maybe they can incorporate them to help us kanji students learn faster.

6 Likes

I’m not sure that method scales up well to larger or more complex kanji. What would 憂 or 鬱 look like?

17 Likes

The reason for this is not so much WaniKani’s word-based mnemonics and more because it’s intended to teach recognition rather than recall. If you want to learn how to write it by hand, you pretty much need to, well, write it by hand.

14 Likes