Kanji routine

Hi WaniKani Community!

I’m pretty new to this webpage and kanji overall but I’m eager to learn and do my reviews/lessons at least twice a day. I’m just wondering if you guys use Wanikani as your main learning tool for kanji or a supplement to let’s say for example textbooks where you learn stroke order etc? Please do share your Kanji routine!

Best!

2 Likes

For me it’s more of a vocab routine, but kanji is also involved. I have a couple of anki-like sets with vocab for time expressions, adjectives (いー and なー), verbs, nouns (grouped thematically) and general expressions (including adverbs). My overall routine looks as follows:

daily:

• vocab + kanji with WaniKani (twice a day or more often if I get more items to review)
  • grammar lessons and exercises + occasional kanji for new words, which if important go into above word sets

weekly:

• all words from the word sets mentioned at the beginning

I use colors to mark my progress in remembering words:

• red - new word I read maybe once and don’t remember yet
  • orange - can read, but can’t write yet
  • blue - can read and write

Easier words, usually spelled with kana like きれい or words with kana + kanji I already know (for example, 先ず), start with orange. Kanji only words start with red.

If I can’t remember a word for longer, I practice it a couple of times on paper, following the stroke order for each kanji as shown on jisho.org. Unfortunately, I already have some bad habits so need to work on these ^^".

2 Likes

I use WK exclusively for Kanji and whatever vocab is included.

For me, it’s optimal with the time I have to devote to Japanese in general. Once I’ve finished WK’s lessons I’ll start reading more.

1 Like

I only use WK at the moment for learning kanji. It’s very time efficient, so well spent energy. For vocab you really need to expand your studies to other stuff. But learning kanji and thus learning to read is a very good start. :slight_smile: (new words you can look up as you go)