Japanese Writing System

Hello everybody,

I’m new to learning Japanese and it seems to me that I learn something new about the writing system every time I dive into that topic. Besides there were some questions about Kanji that came up doing my lessons and reviews on WaniKani. So I decided to take all my information about the Japanese writing system and put them in one place to get a better overview and understanding (especially which reading to use when).
Maybe this will be helpful to others, too, so I want to share it here:

Japanese has three kinds of characters: Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji. Advantage: there are no upper and lower case characters.

Hiragana: used for native Japanese words
There are 46 basic syllables and 23 additional sounds (see: Dakuten)

Katakana: used for writing loanwords and foreign names
There are 46 basic syllables and 23 additional sounds (see: Dakuten)

Hiragana and Katakana represent sounds and are referred to as “Kana”.

Japan didn’t have a written language as Chinese characters (Kanji) made their way to Japan. Kanji are Chinese writing symbols that represent meanings. Hiragana and Katakana evolved later in Japan based on simplified Kanji.

However there already existed a spoken language in Japan that was very different from Chinese. This is the reason for two different readings for Kanji: On’yomi and Kun’yomi. On’yomi is the original Chinese reading and Kun’yomi is the Japanese reading for a Kanji.

Joyo Kanji: 2.136 Kanji which are designated as most commonly used Kanji by the Ministry of Education

Then there are four types of Kanji:

1. Pictograms: Kanji made from pictures (eg. 木 tree, 日 sun/day)
  2. Simple ideograms: Kanji that represent numbers or abstract concepts (eg. 三 three, 上 up/above)
  3. Compound ideograms: Kanji made from the combination of two or more Kanji (eg. 人 person + 木 tree → 休 rest)